2004 Boys Division 1 vs 2004 Boys Premier Division

Sat 09 Sep 17
Score: 1 - 4

Match Report

It was derby day at Tully Park as our two 13 boys teams faced each other in the Cup Semi-Final. Both teams started well but the Premier side had the best of the early chances with Max McGowan hitting the post with an overhead effort. Any time the Premier side seemed to get through there was a Division 1 defender there to put in a superb covering tackle with notable challenges put in by Mark Winters and Ben Ryan, the latter being forced off early with an injury. Even when there was not Ryan McCleod was up to anything else as Max McGowan was again denied by Div 1 keeper who came off his line superbly. However, there was nothing the goalkeeper could do to stop the Premier side taking the lead when Shane Bell's lofted strike found the back of the net. At the other end Adrian Karbownik had the Premier defence at sea and was only denied a shot at goal by a superb tackle with Premier keeper Diarmuid Doyle off his line Another superb McCleod save right on the stroke of halftime meant there was only a goal between the teams sides at the break.
Ten minutes after the break the sides were level as Adrian Karbownik bravely headed home at the near post from a superb left wing cross. The Premier team responded well but the Division 1 side defended well to restrict them to long range shots two of which required superb saves from Ryan McCleod. A neat piece of skill by Division 1's Evan Collins gave him some room in midfield which he used superbly to play in Aaron O'Sullivan who's shot went narrowly over. Seán Mukitiri showed great persistence on the right wing and out in a low cross which was intercepted at the last moment with Adrian Karbownik ready to pull the trigger. Midway up though the half Shane Bell went on a surging run into the box and squared the ball for Max McGowan to lash the ball to the net from close range to put the Premier team back into the lead. Minutes later the goal of the game came from the boot of James Foley as he lashed the ball into the top corner from 25 yards. Five minutes from the end Charlie Molloy lobbed home to round up the scoring in a very enjoyable match.
Division 1 squad: Ryan McCleod, Mark Winters, Gareth Vallely, Charlie McCormack, Cian Garrehy, Evan Collins, Ben Ryan, Jack Conneely, Seán Lynch, Aaron O'Sullivan, Adrian Karbownik, Ryan Murtahe, Eric Yun, Cillian Kirby, Seán Mukitiri
Premier squad: Victor Barbu, Dylan Coyle, James Foley, Diarmuid Doyle, Nico Fragoyiannis, Noah Lacey O'Dea, Jack O'Donnell, Rocco Martinis, Ronan McGinley, Charlie Molloy, Finn Maher, Shane Bell, Max McGowan, Sam Kennedy


Tully Park
Summerhill Rd, Trim, Co. Meath, Ireland

14 Boys Prem White

Adrian Karbownik Forward

14 Boys Prem Green