As we approach the opening game of the NEFL Premier Division vs Bellurgan Utd at 11:30 at Tully Park this Sunday why not have a look at the team that got us to that Division in the first place in 2001.
Having already won the Challenge Cup Alan Kirwan’s men were in contention to win Division 1 but needed to beat league leaders Kentstown Rovers in order to do so. Celtic fielded a young side with three players (Derek Dixon, Derek Donohoe and David Fagan) who were due to take part in the U16 NECSL Cup Final the next week. Kentstown missed a penalty after ten minutes but took the lead 15 minutes later. Celtic equalised before the break with who else but Derek Donohoe netting.
Celtic were reduced to ten men in the second half and neither side could find a winner. Although that meant Kentstown won the league the draw was enough to seal promotion for Celtic as the other side in contention to go up, Bridge Park, also only drew.
What is also significant about this promotion is that Trim Celtic are the only club in continuous membership of the Premier Division since that year following last season’s relegation of Rock Celtic.

Pictured above are:
Alan Kirwan, Kevin Meehan, David Conway, Sean O’Rourke, Danny Quinn, Danny Kirwan, Mick Naughton, Gordon Flood, Derek Donohoe, Damien Dempsey.
Declan Rispin, Ronan Moore, Aaron Fay, Mark Gilsenan, Dominic Martin, David Fagan, Derek Dixon, Paul Campbell.