To celebrate our 50th Anniversary we’ll be delving into the archives to bring you moments from the history of the club. The first instalment features a trip to Dalymount Park for the Lynch Cup Final.
In the 1987/8 Season the Club’s First Team competed in the Premier Division Sunday of the Leinster Senior League and a campaign of mixed results under Manager Dermot Breen saw the Celts finish mid table after some titanic tussles throughout with the likes of Manortown Utd, Stillorgan Celtic, St. Vincent’s, Aylesbury, Rock Celtic (Dundalk), Crumlin Utd and many more. Crumlin Utd twice defeated Celtic in the League that year, 2-1 at Tully Park and 4-1 in Dublin.
Success that season came courtesy of the Lynch Cup where a 4-3 win away against Rathgar Social Club saw Trim through to the decider at Dalymount Park played on Friday night 27th May 1988. Luke Dempsey, Kevin Fogarty, Mick Naughton and Pat Conway were on target in the semi-final. Beeches Celtic from Donnybrook had been despatched in the quarter-final thanks to a brace each from Brendan Corrigan and Ciaran Heffernan. The records show that Edenderry were beaten in the round before that thanks to strikes by Des Edgeworth (2) and Manager Breen himself.
Trim performance on the night was gallant but unsuccessful. Despite holding their illustrious opponents scoreless for over an hour the inevitable happened when a goal was conceded from a free kick just outside the box. In the first half Des Edgeworth was twice put through into god scoring positions by Kevin Fogarty and youngster Mick Naughton shot just narrowly wide.
In the second half some changes to the Trim line up worked to good effect as the Celts chased an equalising goal but a second killer goal was conceded late in the game and a third shortly afterwards from the spot as Trim fought for a consolation score but it was not to be.
In his match report Manager Breen described the visit to Dalymount as ‘a great occasion for the Club’. He praised his side for it’s ‘never give up attitude’ and regretted the missed chances.

The line-up that day was as follows:

1. John Ayton
2. John Cahill
3. Jim Hyland
4. Kevin Meehan
5. Luke Dempsey
6. Brendan Corrigan
7. Des Edgeworth
8. Dermot Breen
9. Kevin Fogarty
10. Ciaran Heffernan
11. Mick Naughton
12.Paddy Doyle (for Heffernan)
13. Pat Conway (for Edgeworth)
14. Robert Bradley