Trim Celtic are crowned NEFL Premier Reserve Champions
14th May, MDL Grounds
Trim Celtic 2-0 Kingscourt Harps
A beautiful day got even better as Trim Celtic’s Reserve team were crowned league champions for the first time since 2007/08. Manager John Kelly was a player back while his current assistant Luke Dempsey was the manager. With Kingscourt 3 points behind Celtic just needed to avoid defeat to clinch the title. Celtic started brightly intent on securing the title with a win and hit the crossbar from a corner in the first minute. Conor Daly had two chances within the first fifteen minutes firstly testing the goalkeeper from a tight angle after good work from Aaron Ryan and then heading Dimmy Higgins’ cross into the arms of the Kingscourt keeper. Kingscourt had a chance on the break but a superbly times last ditch tackle from Johnny Corrigan snuffed out the chance. Another Kingscourt chance saw the impressive Gavin Meehan mop up the danger after a Robbie Westphal save. After an energetic start the game hit a lull but just before the break Gavin Meehan volleyed wide from the edge of the box before Captain Mark Corrigan shot over following a corner.
Into the second half and Dimmy Higgins had an early header cleared off the line. Despite the fact that a draw would have done Celtic Manager Kelly made some very positive substitutions with Aaron Newman, Derek Donohoe and Tommy Farrell all entering the fray. They proved to be a master stroke with all three pivotal in Celtic’s goals. With the Trim side dangerous from corners all afternoon it was no surprise that they took the lead from one. Newman’s kick from the quadrant was superbly met by Man of the Match Anthony Craig but his effort was excellently beaten away by the Kingscourt net under into the path of the predatory Donohoe who made light of awkward bounce to volley home left footed into the roof of the net. Donohoe and Farrell were combining well with the latter having a couple of sightseers before blasting home the insurance goal that rubber stamped the win and the league title. NEFL official Danny Doyle presented the trophy to Celtic captain in front of a typically large Trim support.
Trim Celtic: Robbie Westphal, Paul Munnelly, John Regan, Johnny Corrigan, Sean Hyland, Conor Daly, Gavin Meehan, Anthony Craig, Dimmy Higgins, Mark Corrigan, Aaron Ryan
Subs: Aaron Newman (for Ryan), Derek Donohoe (for Higgins), Tommy Farrell (for Meehan), Ruairi Shortt, Jack Kelly, Stephen Hannan