Seven of the Club’s all conquering U13 side from last season are on duty this week representing the NECSL in the Kennedy Cup Tournament in Limerick this week. Every year the representative squads from all of the Schoolboy Leagues around the country take part in the Kennedy Cup and many players in the past who distinguised themselves in the Kennedy Cup went on to great achievements in Irish soccer. Although the event is dominated by the DDSL there are frequent winners from outside the metropolis. Roy Keane captained a winning Cork Schoolboys’ League in the Kennedy Cup in 1984. John O’Shea played with the Waterford Schoolboys’ League side that won it in 1995, Ian Harte & Damien Duff also played on winning teams.

The Celtic players in the squad are (back row from left) Karl Reilly (3rd), Robert Sweeney (4th), Joan Lehmann (7th), James Toher (8th) and (front row from left) Fionn Nally (4th), Gavin Mullen (8th), Rian Wogan (9th).

Congratulations to all of the boys and good luck this week in Limerick.