This afternoon at Tully Park, Celtic play in the first round of the MDL Challange Cup against visitors Longwood and they will be hoping to take the first step towards emulating the achievement of the class of 2000/01. Manager Alan Kirwan is hoping to see his side continue the good work of last week when his side overcame Clara Town in the Leinster Junior Cup.


Celtic’s one and only triumph in the Meath & District League Challange Cup was in April 2001 when they defeated Albion Rovers at United Park in Drogheda to win the cup. Celtiic’s squad that evening was Daniel Kirwan, Dominic Martin (Captain), Ciaran Rispin, Mark Gilsenan, Fergus Fagan, Ciaran Greene, Brian Smith, Kevin Meehan, Danny Quinn, David Conway, Derek Donohoe, Gordon Flood, Aaron Fay, Niall Keogh, Ronan Moore, Declan Rispin & Sean O’Rourke. The team was managed by Alan Kirwan then also. Kevin Meehan with a penelty and Brian Smith scored Celtic’s goals in a 2-1 win over the Co. Louth side.

Good luck lads!